your poet aggregate.

5 Q’s with Spitfire

Cherece, aka “Spitfire”, is a wife and mother, but mostly she is a writer.  She has been writing since the 90’s and performing Spoken Word since 2001.  She enjoys the added dimension that performing brings to the written word.  She will soon expand her love of the written word into a fantasy novel. diVERSEcity  asked her a few questions. Here’s what she had to say:

Why do you perform spoken word? What kinds of things inspire you?

I found that I had words, thoughts, and actions colliding in my head. Writing them down was great, but SHARING them was better. I’m able to put all my emotion into a performance.  As to what kinds of things inspire me? Man! What doesn’t! Seeing a red flower where you didn’t expect one, the sky, my interactions with people. I try to find inspiration in any and everything.

Is there a difference between spoken word and poetry recitals?

I think there is a difference.  A poetry recital is just that, a recital. You are speaking someone elses words. However great they may be they belong to someone else. Spoken word is much more of a perfomance, and, more often than not, the words are original and specific to the speaker.

How often do you write something new?

I don’t write new things as often as I’d like to or as often as I should. Creativity is a muscle. If it’s not exercised it gets weak. This is why adults are less imaginative than children. (Now I’ve shamed myself into having to go write something!)

If you could perform on any stage, where would it be?

I think I’m going to sound odd here.  I would like my stage to be a movie screen.  Movies are International.  You reach SO many people that way. I want to have the longest possible reach creatively speaking.  Barring that I’d LOVE to be on Broadway producing an all poetic stage play of the black experience from Slavery to the Present!

If you could do a collaboration with any poet, famous or not, who would that person be?

I would LOVE to collaborate with King Solomon!  That man had a way with words that transcends time.  Proverbs and Song of Solomon touch me every time I read them. Next in line would be his dad King David!



2 responses

  1. PDNumba

    Yeah, I wanna woo my lady with words like Solomon. He tops.

    July 1, 2010 at 2:36 pm

  2. Aww I love Cherece!

    July 14, 2010 at 3:25 pm

Leave a comment