your poet aggregate.

Literati Magazine

She started as handwriting on a bunch of sticky notes at the desk that we shared. I hadn’t met her formally because we had different hours. Then one day this cute-faced woman bopped into the office and introduced herself as Kea. We clicked instantly. Within the first few conversations, she told me about her online magazine: Literati Magazine. At first, I will admit, I was a bit skeptical, but I checked it out anyway. I was amazed at how well-organized the site was. I then learned that she actually had a staff of about 12 people. It was official!

Literati Magazine was launched in the Fall of 2009. Kea Dodson is the Editor in Cheif and founder. “I wanted a place where the voiceless and the un-traditional had a voice.” Currently, the music issue is out. It features music from artists such as J-Minus, Prophets in Stereo, Life at War, and more. They feature poetry, short story, art, photography, commentary, blogs, music, and eventually they will include movies and information about different art events happening around the country.

“I want Literati to be remembered for our support and promotion of indie artists and  promote an interests in the arts.”

I respect this magazine so much because it transcends typical urban art and shines light on the underdogs. Check them out in the Spring 2010 issue: www.literatimag.com.

Until next time folks.

iWrite.

One response

  1. Keep the thoughts flowing!

    October 18, 2010 at 8:12 pm

Leave a comment